Uppsala University, Department of Physics and Astronomy

Uppsala University is a comprehensive research-intensive university with a strong international standing. Our mission is to pursue top-quality research and education and to interact constructively with society. Our most important assets are all the individuals whose curiosity and dedication make Uppsala University one of Sweden’s most exciting workplaces. Uppsala University has 46.000 students, 7.300 employees and a turnover of SEK 7.3 billion.

The research conducted at the Department of Physics and Astronomy encompasses a wide range of physics topics, distributed over ten divisions. The department is located in the Ångström laboratory and employs nearly 400 people, 125 of whom are doctoral students. It offers a broad physics curriculum to undergraduate and graduate students, participation in nationally and internationally leading projects for researchers, and opportunities for partnership with industry and various outreach activities.

The postdoctoral positions are part of several projects and grants funded by the Knut and Alice Wallenberg Foundation, the European Research Council, the Swedish Research Council and the Ragnar Söderberg Foundation. Applicants are expected to conduct research in theoretical physics related to quantum field theory and string theory. Research areas of particular interest include (but are not restricted to): supersymmetry, gauge/gravity duality, integrability, conformal bootstrap, scattering amplitudes, gravitational waves, cosmology, and string phenomenology.

Prerequisites: The holder of a postdoctoral researcher position must have a PhD degree in theoretical physics or equivalent. The PhD degree must have been obtained at the start of employment and no more than three years prior to the application deadline; however, periods of e.g. sick leave or parental leave are deducted from this three-year period.

The application should contain a cover letter mentioning their research area, a CV, a brief research statement, and a publication list. The applicant should arrange to have two letters of recommendation sent by email to postdoc.teorfys.uppsala@gmail.com (if letters are made available through AcademicJobsOnline they need not be sent through email). Contact information for the letter writers should be included in the application. Personal circumstances that may be of relevance in the evaluation, for example periods of parental leave, should be mentioned in the CV.

Uppsala University strives to be an inclusive workplace that promotes equal opportunities and attracts qualified candidates who can contribute to the University’s excellence and diversity. We welcome applications from all sections of the community and from people of all backgrounds. 

Salary: Individual salary.
 
Starting date: 01-09-2020 or as otherwise agreed.

Employment Period: The period of employment is 2 years.

Type of employment: Temporary position according to central collective agreement.

Scope of employment: 100 %

For further information about the position please contact:

  • Agnese Bissi (agnese.bissi@physics.uu.se)
  • Ulf Danielsson (ulf.danielsson@physics.uu.se)
  • Guido Festuccia (guido.festuccia@physics.uu.se)
  • Henrik Johansson (henrik.johansson@physics.uu.se)
  • Magdalena Larfors (magdalena.larfors@physics.uu.se)
  • Joseph Minahan (joseph.minahan@physics.uu.se)
  • Oliver Schlotterer (oliver.schlotterer@physics.uu.se)
  • Dmytro Volin (dmytro.volin@physics.uu.se)
  • Maxim Zabzine (maxim.zabzine@physics.uu.se)

Please submit your application by 2 December, 2019, UFV-PA 2019/3598.

Are you considering moving to Sweden to work at Uppsala University? If so, you will find a lot of information about working and living in Sweden at www.uu.se/joinus. You are also welcome to contact International Faculty and Staff Services at ifss@uadm.uu.se.

Type of employment Temporary position longer than 6 months
Contract type Full time
First day of employment 20200901
Salary Fixed salary
Number of positions 3
Working hours 100%
City Uppsala
County Uppsala län
Country Sweden
Reference number UFV-PA 2019/3598
Union representative
  • Seko Universitetsklubben, seko@uadm.uu.se
  • ST/TCO, tco@fackorg.uu.se
  • Saco-rådet, saco@uadm.uu.se
Published 06.Nov.2019
Last application date 02.Dec.2019 11:59 PM CET

Return to job vacancies